AK House Majority
The 27th Alaska State Legislature, 2011 - 2012  
Press Release: Legislative Bipartisan News

Alaska Arctic Policy Commissioners Appointed

24 Members Chosen to Develop the State'S Arctic Policy
Ak Legislative MajorityAk Legislative Majority
Ak Majority Organization
Ak Majority Organization

Posted: September 21, 2012
Contact: Christine Hess, 465-4833, Chief of Staff

(Anchorage) - Senate President Gary Stevens and House Speaker Mike Chenault today announced their appointments to the Alaska Arctic Policy Commission, which was created during the past legislative session to help develop the state's Arctic policy and strategy.

The Commission, recommended by the Northern Waters Task Force, was created with passage of House Concurrent Resolution 23. President Stevens and Speaker Chenault chose 19 members and three alternates, including three senators and representatives, and 13 members from areas ranging from federal and tribal governments, to the logistics industry and tribal entities. The governor's office appoints the twentieth member.

Members appointed by name/seat are:



HCR 23 Requirements

  • Pat Pourchot, Special Asst. to the Secretary of the Interior/federal government representative
  • Reggie Joule The Native Village of Kotzebue Kotzebue IRA/tribal entity representative
  • Stephen Trimble/URS Corp./mining industry representative
  • Lisa Pekich, Dir. of Village Outreach ConocoPhillips Alaska/oil & gas industry representative
  • Lawson Brigham, Distinguished Professor University of Alaska Fairbanks/university representative
  • Stephanie Madsen, Exec. Dir. At Sea Processors Association/fisheries representative
  • Chris Hladick, Unalaska City Manager/local government representative
  • Denise Michels, Nome Mayor/coastal community representative
  • Nils Andreassen, Institute of the North Managing Director/International Arctic organization representative
  • Layla Hughes/conservation group representative
  • Steve Scalzo, Foss Marine Holdings COO/marine transportation & logistics representative
  • Elizabeth Moore, NANA Regional Corporation Community & Government Affairs Manager/ANCSA Corporation representative
  • Peter Garay, American Pilots Association delegate/marine pilots representative


The Commission, which will meet at a later date to organize, will meet in Arctic areas around the state over the next two years, and Anchorage and Fairbanks, and provide preliminary policy recommendations by Jan. 30, 2014, and submit a final report by Jan. 30, 2015.

For more information on HCR 23 go to http://housemajority.org/spon.php?id=27hcr23.

# # #
Share |